Recipe of the Week!

Hey guys! I hope you’ve been having a great week and making some progress on your goals! I know I have made some progress. I’m actually doing my 2nd set of measurements this weekend! I’m hoping to see some changes.

It’s time for the recipe of the week! And since we were just talking about changes and goals, this week’s recipe can help with both! This is another super easy recipe. Actually it’s even easier than last week’s recipe but it’s better for you too!

This week I’m sharing the recipe for Crock Pot Chicken and Black Beans! Anybody who knows me will tell you I love Mexican food. I am always looking for new recipes and variations of old favorites.

This recipe is great for those busy nights where the kids have 20 different things they have to do. Or you have a late meeting and want to be able to just come home and eat and go to bed! You prep it in 10 minutes and you leave it for 4-8 hours depending on your crock pot setting.

So here’s what you’ll need for this recipe:

3 lbs of boneless, skinless chicken

20 oz. can of diced tomatoes with green chiles

2 cans of black beans drained

1 can of corn drained

1 packet of taco seasoning

You’ll want to also have all the fixins for it:

sour cream

shredded cheese

shredded lettuce

guacamole or diced avocado

corn tortillas

refried beans

salsa

Now comes the fun part, putting it all together.

Spray your crock pot with non-stick cooking spray or line it with foil.

Pat the chicken dry with paper towels and place in the bottom of the crock.

Pour the canned diced tomatoes, black beans and corn on top of the chicken, making sure to drain all fluids first!

Add taco seasoning if you are using it (I recommend it.)

Cover it and cook on low for 6-8 hours or on high for 4 hours!

When done cooking, remove the chicken breasts and shred them. Mix the shredded chicken back in with black beans, corn and diced tomatoes.

Serve with you favorite toppings!

I hope everyone likes this recipe as much as I do. It’s so good. You can also prep this ahead of time by throwing all the ingredients into a freezer bag and freezing it. Then just pull the bag out the night before and put it in the fridge. The next morning dump it all in the crock pot and turn it on!

I will see you next week! And I will be a year older! Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

