Taking Care of You

Hey guys! How was your weekend? I hope no one is too disappointed about the way the super bowl turned out!

I had my birthday Saturday. It was just a lazy day. We ordered in, watched movies and just hung out.

We have a birthday party for my soon to be 3 year old this coming Saturday. My husband and I will be celebrating my birthday later that evening. (Babysitters can be hard to come by around here sometimes.)

I wanna talk to you today about taking care of you. I know that sounds like a motherly thing to say but it’s important. I have for years tried to be superwoman! I wanted to be involved in everything at the school. I wanted to go to every single event that was in our town. I wanted to work outside the home but also work from home. I wanted to have my hands in all these different things.

7 years ago I was diagnosed with epilepsy! I was put on medication and told I needed to start taking care of myself. I need to eat right, rest and drink a lot of fluids. I needed to give up caffeine and my undying need to be in control of everything!

I tried for a little while but as soon as the initial side effects from my medication wore off I was right back at it. And I would get so busy, I would forget to take my medication. Which would cause me to have another seizure. It became a vicious cycle.

I finally learned that it’s not important to be involved in everything. It’s not important to live up to every one’s expectations (there of course are some you have to still live up to.) It’s not important to look like you’ve got it all together all the time. Because if everyone was honest, no one really does have it all together all the time.

I’m still working on saying no to things that aren’t going to help me or my family. I’m still working on learning where my limits lie. I’m still trying to figure out the very unsteady balance between my work, my home based business and my home life.

I am however, managing my time more efficiently. Sticking to routines. I’m make room in my schedule to take care of myself, to exercise, to eat better. I’m making sure that I don’t let the rest of the world take over my time.

What is one thing that you could say no to? One thing that would give you some breathing room in your day to day life? If you would like to share it with me you can either comment below or you can head over to the contact page and shoot me an email. I would love to hear from you guys!

I’ll be back Wednesday. Have a great couple days!

Leave a Reply

