National Craft Month

Hey Guys! It is National Craft Month! This is one of my favorite months of the year. It’s a time when people start releasing new patterns, DIY projects, and info about their crafts they’ve been working on over the winter.

I’m super excited about all the things I have in store for you this month! Some very dear friends have agreed to be featured here this month. They are all as excited as I am.

I wanted to start the month off by telling you a little more about how I started Crochet4LifeCrafts. I also wanted to give you a little more information about the awesome products I have available over there.

I started crocheting when I was 13! It all started as a project for the Bible study I was in. We were making blankets for kids that had cancer and other terminal illnesses.

At first I had a hard time figuring out how to do even simple stitches. I worked hard to learn the stitches. Once it came to me, I was off.

I took a break for several years. I was very busy with sports, high school, college plans, and meeting my husband. I didn’t feel like I had time for anything else.

Then I had a child and was trying to find my way in the world. Fast forward a few years and a cross country move to Indiana from South Florida. I was not super thrilled about moving away from our families and friends with 2 small children. I also wasn’t thrilled about where we were moving to, the middle of nowhere! Literally for the first few months we were in Indiana, we were 20 minutes from the nearest grocery store!

I started looking for a job so we could afford a place in town. I landed one at an insurance agency an hour away! I wasn’t thrilled with the commute at first. Then after a month of training, I realized I was a natural. I had no problem selling insurance. It also helped that we were working in a call center and were able to crochet, knit, quilt, read, color, and do anything our heart desired as long as we didn’t have a cell phone, tablet or e-reader.

So I renewed my passion for crocheting. I started crocheting things I never thought I could make. I learned new stitches, new patterns, and got new ideas. The more I made the more my coworkers started recommending opening an online store at Etsy or Shopify.

I was unsure that I would be able to make any money selling crocheted items. So I put it off. A few months later my cousin and his amazing girlfriend found out they were pregnant. She started registering for items she wanted for her baby girl. On her registry I found a crocheted blanket from a seller on Etsy for $70!

I was blown away! I had no idea that people were actually making that kind of money on Etsy. I decided to give it a try.

At first I just listed whatever items I had on hand and wrote basic descriptions. I wasn’t marketing. After my first month, I also wasn’t seeing any more traffic. I knew something had to change.

After another cross country move back to South Florida, I started trying to do more to market my store. It started with a failed blogging attempt and a social media account that I rarely posted in. I didn’t know what I was doing.

Recently, my friend Jennifer (She will be featured next Wednesday!) posted on Facebook that her Etsy shop had been featured by Etsy! I asked her how she had managed that. She said she drove more and more traffic to her shop by marketing on Facebook and Instagram! That was it! 2 free sites and her shop had grown!

I decided to give it a try. And you know what! It has been working. I’ve got new likes, new page views, new visitors! For the first time since I opened my shop a year ago, I am seeing some interest! I am seeing my shop refresh!

I am looking forward to seeing what happens with Crochet4LifeCrafts. I am still trying new patterns like the corner to corner blanket I’m currently working on.

And the blanket I’m starting next!

flower-blanket

I hope you enjoyed this little back story on me. I’ll be telling you more about the evolution of Crochet4LifeCrafts throughout the month. Including some more information about on of the members of my shop.

If you would like to be one of the first to know about what’s going on with CreativeSpartanMama, head over to the contact page and shoot me an email. You’ll also receive a special treat from me for signing up for the weekly newsletter.

Leave a Reply

